SEND Parent = Agitator?

SEND Parent = Agitator?

By Rosie and Jo’s mum

There’s a new word for parents like me.

I realised that the education system was failing my children very badly, I found the guidelines their educators should be following and I spent time, energy and, eventually, money on making sure their needs were met well enough for them to have equality of access to the curriculum.

That means that I am now known as an agitator.

This was the word I heard used yesterday by Edward Timpson MP, Minister of State for Vulnerable Children and Families, to describe parents like me to a room full of SENCos.

Today I am reading articles about how pushy parents obtain diagnoses for their children to get them independent school places and extra exam time.

This feels a little like the government’s labelling of benefits claimants as scroungers to garner support for cutting disability benefits.

Despite their loudly declared intentions to promote cooperation between educators and parent/carers in the SEN Code of Practice, I wonder if we are about to see a divide and conquer campaign which will set SEND staff against SEND parents, maybe even followed by further reductions in SEND funding.

Let’s do our best not to fall into that trap.

We know that the vast majority of parents are not only fighting simply to enable their children to learn in equality with their peers but an awful lot of them are spending their precious spare time supporting other parents who are following them down the same road. Our battles are absolutely not about gaining advantage over others. We help and support each other.

Sadly, I know there are parents out there who cynically use the system to gain advantage for their children, just as there are rotten apples in any barrel but the opportunities to exploit the system in this way are few and far between, as are the parents who take advantage of them. The existence of these selfish few cannot be allowed to sour the already tense relationships between parents and school staff.

Please, when you hear the word agitators used to describe parents who are committed to protecting their children’s education and well-being, challenge it.

The problem is not the parents who can hold authorities and educators to account. The problem is that many children’s needs are left unmet because there is nobody to advocate for them. The problem is that any parent ever needed to fight in the first place.

We need, now more than ever, to work in cooperation with each other to support all children with SEND. Let’s not allow anybody else’s agenda to destroy our ability to do this.

All of our children’s futures depend on it.

 

If you have found this post helpful and you think others may too, please click one of the share buttons below

Like this blog?  To see more of our blog posts please click here

6 thoughts on “SEND Parent = Agitator?

  1. I was there and heard Ed Timpson declare that we need to get things right for ALL children with SEND, not just those with parents who are agitators. He followed this with a list of things that should be done, but nowhere did he give any commitment to ensure these things could be enforced.

    Though he mentioned the word ‘agitators’ in a seemingly negative light, I agreed in principle that the children of parents who were not, should have their needs met at least to the (still often woefully inadequate) levels parent agitators are able to secure. What was missing from his speech however, was the fact that his office has done absolutely no policing or enforcement of accountability, auditing or even the setting of performance indicators based on outcomes (why on earth is 20 weeks for an EHCP a PI for LAs without quality of content or reduced tribunal appeals?).

    Given all this, and the drive that many of the agitating parents have for system and culture change, they are in fact, the non-agitating parents only hope for improvements.

    Like

  2. Yes, I heard him say that too and it was a new one on me. I thought I was an advocate for my child (and, as it has transpired, for lots of other families) But I don’t to have to do this forever, I want parents to be able to EXPECT to get the right help for their child without having to rattle any cages, advocate or agitate or do anything else except be a parent.

    Like

    1. I want to answer and say the biggest YES ME TOO – but I can’t express loudly enough how I want to go back to being a mum with a big job etc etc etc and just know the children are doing well. thank you 🙂

      Like

      1. Well good luck, I hope you do. Don’t leave it as long as me. I used to be a TV newsreader – not many offers to get back into that for women of 50!

        Like

Leave a Reply

